2011 TCA Awards: 'Friday Night Lights,' 'Modern Family,' 'Mad Men' earn top honors

fnl-tca-award.jpg "Mad Men" and "Modern Family" each won a pair of awards at the Television Critics Association Awards Saturday night (Aug. 6), but the top honor went to "Friday Night Lights."

"FNL" won the program of the year award at the 27th annual ceremony for its final season. It's the second TCA honor for the show, which won outstanding new program after its first season in 2006.

"Modern Family" earned its second straight award for best comedy, while "Mad Men" snagged its third honor for best drama (it also won the award in 2008 and 2009). "Modern Family's" Ty Burrell also shared the award for individual achievement in comedy with Nick Offerman of "Parks and Recreation" -- who was also the ceremony's host. Jon Hamm picked up his first TCA Award for individual achievement in drama for his work on "Mad Men."

"The Dick Van Dyke Show" was honored with the TCA's "Heritage Award," for programs that have had a lasting impact on popular culture. Oprah Winfrey was given the career achievement award.

The full list of TCA Award winners:

Program of the Year: "Friday Night Lights" (DirecTV/NBC)

Outstanding Achievement in Drama: "Mad Men" (AMC)

Outstanding Achievement in Comedy:
"Modern Family" (ABC)

Individual Achievement in Drama:
Jon Hamm ("Mad Men," AMC)

Individual Achievement in Comedy:
Ty Burrell ("Modern Family," ABC) and Nick Offerman ("Parks and Recreation," NBC)

Outstanding New Program:
"Game of Thrones" (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming:
"The Amazing Race" (CBS)

Outstanding Achievement in News and Information:
"Restrepo" (National Geographic Channel)

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming: "Sesame Street" (PBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials:
"Masterpiece: Sherlock" (PBS)

Career Achievement Award:
Oprah Winfrey

Heritage Award:
"The Dick Van Dyke Show"

Photo/Video credit: NBC