'Doctor Who' stamps from Britain's Royal Mail will mark the show's 50th anniversary

There is no science fiction show with a longer history than the British series, "Doctor Who." 2013 marks the 50th anniversary of the sci-fi series, and Great Britain's Royal Mail service is commemorating the milestone with a set of 11 stamps depicting images from the show.

The stamps will not be released until March 26, 2013, but fans can pre-order their sets now from the Royal Mail's website. Within the United Kingdom, the stamps will also be available for ordering over the phone and at post offices.

The 11 stamps will feature each of the 11 actors who have played the Doctor since the debut of "Doctor Who" on Nov. 23, 1963. Surrounding each man's face is a graphic recalling the show's iconic opening sequence.

In addition to the 11 main stamps, the Royal Mail will also release a sheet of five miniature stamps featuring the TARDIS and four of the Doctor's worst foes: a Dalek, a Cyberman, an Ood and a Weeping Angel.

The featured actors are:

Matt Smith (the Eleventh -- and current -- Doctor)

David Tennant (the Tenth Doctor)

Christopher Eccleston (the Ninth Doctor)

Paul McGann (the Eighth Doctor)

Sylvester McCoy (the Seventh Doctor)

Colin Baker (the Sixth Doctor)

Peter Davison (the Fifth Doctor)

Tom Baker (the Fourth Doctor)

Jon Pertwee (the Third Doctor)

Patrick Troughton (the Second Doctor)

William Hartnell (the First Doctor)


Photo/Video credit: Royal Mail