'How I Met Your Mother' creators shoot down 'Dad' report; 'Catfish' renewed for Season 4

Add to Favorites | Catfish: The TV Show
×
Remove from Favorites
Catfish: The TV Show has been added to your favorites.
OK
CANCEL
himyd-catfish-awkward-tv-snacks.jpgTV news and notes:

- "How I Met Your Dad" is still dead, despite a report to the contrary. Following a TVLine story saying studio 20th Century Fox TV was still working on developing a new version of the show, "How I Met Your Mother" creators Carter Bays and Craig Thomas each tweeted the spinoff that starred Greta Gerwig wasn't going forward.

- MTV has picked up a fourth season of "Catfish: The TV Show." Season 3 scored well in MTV's core demo of teens and adults under 35, so we'll get to see more Nev and Max exposes soon. A premiere date for Season 4 hasn't been announced.

- More MTV news from the summer TV press tour: The channel has given a series order to "Shannara," a drama based on Terry Brooks' series of fantasy novels. Al Gough and Miles Millar ("Smallville") are exectuive producing, and Jonathan Liebesman ("Wrath of the Titans") will direct the first two episodes.

- Finally from MTV, a few premiere dates: New episodes of "Awkward" and "Faking It" will debut on Tuesday, Sept. 23, and Season 2 of "Are You the One?" will debut Monday, Sept. 29.

- Want to see legendary comedians Monty Python live? Well, you would've had to have been one of the lucky people to snap up tickets for their London arena show. But you can have the next best thing: "Monty Python Live (mostly)," starring John Cleese, Terry Gilliam, Eric Idle, Terry Jones and Michael Palin, will be simulcast in more than 420 American movie theaters on Sunday, July 20 at 2:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. CT/12:30 p.m. MT/11:30 a.m. PT.

- Sherlock is getting a new protege in the form of Ophelia Lovibond on the upcoming third season of CBS' "Elementary." Kitty Winter is Sherlock's new apprentice in New York who immediately becomes rivals with her predecessor, Joan Watson. Kitty's reasons for undertaking Holmes' partnership are nebulous, and her new arrangement with Sherlock will have ongoing repercussions for his relationship with Joan.

- "Reign" is adding a new bad guy for Season 2. Craig Parker will recur as French Court enemy Narcisse, a "brilliant, sexual, fierce" devout Catholic who's met his match in Catherine. [ TVLine]

Photo/Video credit: Getty Images, MTV