Kody Brown, 'Sister Wives' on 'Today': 'We're a family and that's all we are'

kody-sister-wives-today.jpg "Sister Wives," the TLC reality show that follows the lives of Kody Brown and his four wives, is back for its second season on Sunday (March 13). Monday morning (March 7), Kody and his wives Meri, Janelle, Christine and Robyn appeared on "Today" to talk about their experiences.

On the reaction to the show so far, third wife Christine says, "We have had a lot of support ... letting us know that we've kind of helped change their mind a bit. That side of it's been wonderful."

There have certainly been negative reactions, but second wife Janelle says, "I think the positive has far outweighed anything. I hope that we have helped people have a little more tolerance and understanding."

"We actually have people write to us," continues Christine. "They were saying we didn't know this was somewhere else and they were grateful to us for the example we were showing and for letting them see that there were others like them."

There has been talk of Utah prosecutors going after the Brown family for polygamy, but Kody says they don't regret going public and that they try not to dwell on it because that "puts you in a position of fear."

Fourth wife Robyn adds, "We're just here to show a family, we're just trying to open up our lives and say, 'Here we are, we're a family and that's all we are.' We're not hurting anyone, everybody has their choice, our children are happy and that's basically what our message is."

"Sister Wives" premieres its second season Sunday, March 13 at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT on TLC. Leading up to the premiere, you can get caught up (or refreshed) on Season 1, as there is a marathon starting at 3 p.m. ET/noon PT.


Visit msnbc.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

Photo/Video credit: NBC