London 2012 hurdles: Liu Xiang stumbles; Lolo Jones takes center stage

google-doodle-hurdles-olympics.jpgThe Google Doodle has been highlighting events of the 2012 Summer Olympics and Tuesday's (Aug. 7) interactive hurdles race is definitely the best so far. It also falls on a day when U.S. hurdler Lolo Jones takes center stage.

Jones famously caught her foot on the second-to-last hurdle at the 2008 games and finished out of medal contention in the 100m hurdles after coming in as the favorite (and leading the race when she tripped). Now she's back and looking to see if she's still got what it takes. The women's 100m hurdles semifinals start at 2:15 p.m. ET/11:15 a.m. PT, with the finals taking place at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT. The races will be streamed live online, or broadcast in primetime for those of you who cannot watch a live stream.

On the men's side, there was a wonderful bit of sportsmanship during the men's 110m hurdles heats when China's Liu Xiang, the gold medal winner from Athens in 2004, stumbled and fell to the track. He started to limp towards the tunnel, but changed his mind and began limping towards the finish line. His fellow competitors came back to help him finish the race and hugged him before helping carry him off the track. 

liu-xiang-hurdles-getty.jpg
Photo/Video credit: Google, Getty Images