NBC cancels 'Murder, She Wrote' reboot starring Octavia Spencer

murder-she-wrote-octavia-spencer-canceled.jpg

Looks like this reboot is dead on arrival ... for now, at least.

NBC has canceled the new "Murder, She Wrote," Deadline reports.

The update of the long-running CBS drama starring Angela Lansbury was going to star Octavia Spencer, but apparently NBC execs want to find a different way to re-do the classic, and will revisit the idea with a new angle.

When NBC first announced its plans to reboot the series as a pilot it was described as a "light, contemporary procedural in the vein of 'Bones' or 'Fargo.'" 

The reboot would have followed a hospital administrator and amateur sleuth (Spencer) who self-publishes her first mystery novel. Her passion with true crime leads her to become an active participant in the investigations.

The original "Murder, She Wrote" aired from 1984 to 1996 on CBS.

Photo/Video credit: Getty Images