Oprah, Bill Clinton among Presidential Medal of Freedom recipients


Oprah Winfrey, Bill Clinton and Gloria Steinem are among the 16 recipients of the 2013 Presidential Medal of Freedom. The White House announced in a press release the people President Barack Obama chose to award the honor in its 50th year.

"The Presidential Medal of Freedom goes to men and women who have dedicated their own lives to enriching ours," Obama says of the highest civilian honor. "This year's honorees have been blessed with extraordinary talent, but what sets them apart is their gift for sharing that talent with the world. It will be my honor to present them with a token of our nation's gratitude."

In addition to the three names written above, honorees include Ernie Banks, Ben Bradlee, Daniel Kahneman, Richard Lugar, Loretta Lynn, Mario Molina, Arturo Sandoval, Dean Smith, Cordy Tindell "C.T." Vivian and Patricia Wald. Three posthumous awards go to Bayard Rustin, Sally Ride and Daniel Inouye.

Photo/Video credit: Getty Images